Return to Work

Current Synopsis

On October 13, Denver Public Schools shared updates on their return-to-school plan. These decisions were made based on the guidance given by Denver Health partners.

 
Elementary Schools:
Kindergarten through fifth grade will phase back into in-person learning beginning October 21.
 
Secondary Schools:
Middle and high schools will continue remote learning through Friday, November 6. Secondary special-education center programs, newcomer centers, and remote learning centers are exceptions and will open for in-person at the start of the second quarter.

 

To view COVID-19 data, specifically for the City of Denver visit the Denver COVID-19 Data Summary. All information is updated by 6 p.m. daily.

 

Families First Coronavirus Response Act

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA or Act) requires certain employers to provide their employees with paid sick leave or expanded family and medical leave for specified reasons related to COVID-19.[1] The Department of Labor’s (Department) Wage and Hour Division (WHD) administers and enforces the new law’s paid leave requirements. These provisions will apply from the effective date through December 31, 2020.

Generally, the Act provides that covered employers must provide to all employees:

  • Two weeks (up to 80 hours) of paid sick leave at the employee’s regular rate of pay where the employee is unable to work because the employee is quarantined (pursuant to Federal, State, or local government order or advice of a health care provider), and/or experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and seeking a medical diagnosis; or
  • Two weeks (up to 80 hours) of paid sick leave at two-thirds the employee’s regular rate of pay because the employee is unable to work because of a bona fide need to care for an individual subject to quarantine (pursuant to Federal, State, or local government order or advice of a health care provider), or care for a child (under 18 years of age) whose school or child care provider is closed or unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19, and/or the employee is experiencing a substantially similar condition as specified by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, in consultation with the Secretaries of the Treasury and Labor.

A covered employer must provide to employees that it has employed for at least 30 days:

  • Up to an additional 10 weeks of paid expanded family and medical leave at two-thirds the employee’s regular rate of pay where an employee is unable to work due to a bona fide need for leave to care for a child whose school or child care provider is closed or unavailable for reasons related to COVID-19.

Source: United States Department of Labor Website

 

DPS and DCTA COVID-19 Resources

DCTA Form for Reporting Back to School Problems

DCTA and DPS COVID MOU – Full Language 

Denver Health Guidelines – One Pager (Updated 10/1)

DPS Return to Worksite Information

Accommodation Requests for COVID-19

Schedule Your Free COVID-19 Test

DPS 5 –  I Protect You; You Protect Me

 

State of Colorado COVID-19 Resources

State of Colorado’s COVID-19 Landing Page

Safer at Home Guidance

Public Health Guidance and Resources

Colorado Department of Education CARES Act

Dept. of Labor Families First Coronavirus Response Act